Tianjin Medical University

Tianjin Medical University

Established in 1951 as Tianjin Medical College, Tianjin Medical University was the first medical institution approved by the State Council after the founding of the People's Republic of China. The first president of TMU was Professor Xianyi Zhu, a renowned endocrinologist and medical educationist. In 1993, Tianjin Medical College and Tianjin Second Medical College merged to form Tianjin Medical University, one of the national 211 Project key universities in China. Currently Professor Yongfeng Shang, a prestigious biochemist & molecular biologist and academician of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, is serving as TMU’s president and the university’s sixth president overall.

The university is a dedicated and preeminent research and education institution with medical science as the core subject and life science as its foundation. It has developed the university into a multi-disciplinary medical university. 

The university faculty is made up of a large group of distinguished professors and scholars from home and abroad. There are 8683 teaching, research and administrative staffs, including 8161 professionals. Of these professionals, 563 are professors and 987 are associate professors. Included in this number are an academician of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, two academicians of the Chinese Academy of Engineering, nine visiting and specially appointed professors of Cheung Kong Scholars, four national Thousand Talents Plan professors, two national leading experts of Ten Thousand Talents Plan, four winners of the National Science Fund for Distingu...

University dorm

You May Like